From X-Rays to Black Holes: Ten Trailblazing Nobel Laureates in Physics

Wilhelm Röntgen (1901)

Recognized for the discovery of X-rays, a groundbreaking achievement in the field of physics​​​​.

Marie Curie, Pierre Curie, and Henri Becquerel (1903)

Awarded for their joint researches on radiation phenomena, with Becquerel's discovery of radioactivity and the Curies' further contributions​​.

Albert Einstein (1921)

Honored for his discovery of the law of the photoelectric effect, a pivotal step in the development of quantum theory​​.

Niels Bohr (1922)

Recognized for his contributions to understanding atomic structure and quantum mechanics​​.

Werner Heisenberg (1932)

Awarded for the creation of quantum mechanics, the application of which led to the discovery of allotropic forms of hydrogen​​.

James Chadwick (1935)

Honored for the discovery of the neutron, a particle integral to the structure of the atom​​.

Richard P. Feynman, Julian Schwinger, and Sin-Itiro Tomonaga (1965)

Recognized for their fundamental work in quantum electrodynamics, with deep-ploughing consequences for the physics of elementary particles​​.

Martin L. Perl and Frederick Reines (1995)

Awarded for the discovery of the tau lepton (Perl) and the detection of the neutrino (Reines), fundamental particles in physics​​.

Peter Higgs and François Englert (2013)

Honored for the theoretical discovery of a mechanism that contributes to our understanding of the origin of mass of subatomic particles​​.

Roger Penrose, Reinhard Genzel, and Andrea Ghez (2020)

Awarded for discoveries that have improved our understanding of the universe, including black hole formation and the discovery of a supermassive compact object at the center of our galaxy​​.